Fort Pierre Development Corporation

Dakotamart In Fort Pierre Celebrates Name Change, New Ownership!

September 22, 2023

Dakotamart Manager Dave Sayler, Store Owner Jim Feist & Employees Prepare To Cut the Ribbon To Celebrate New ownership of the Fort Pierre Store . . .

The Fort Pierre store, Pierre store and Martin store will continue as a separate company under the “Dakotamart” name. Lynn Feist will continue operating the other stores in South Dakota under the name of Lynn’s Dakotamart.
Manager Dave Sayler returns to manage the Fort Pierre store which he managed in 2017-2020 before transferring to the Pierre store. In 2019, Sayler had added the hardware section to the Fort Pierre store as well as the “Fresh Foods” line. The hardware selection has been very popular with Fort Pierre residents. In fact, this summer it enabled Dave Bonde and Lyle Magorien to get a food truck the right adapter for electricity to keep their refrigeration running during the 4th of July.
The Lynn’s Dakotmart web site had announced a few months ago that: “The stores will be removed from the Dakotamart, Inc. Corporation and will be owned by James Feist, effective April 23. ”
The Rapid City-based Lynn’s Dakotamart bought Sutley’s Town and Ranch Market in Fort Pierre from Dwayne Strohfus and his co-owner in 2014. Lynn’s Dakotamart store chain celebrated 50 years of store ownership in 2018.
Assisting the Fort Pierre store with their ribbon cutting today, September 22nd, were Pierre store manager Tim Murphy; Deb Van Skike, Dakotamart General Manager; Fort Pierre Development Corporation’s president Lyle Magorien and City Council member Larry Cronin. Also, present were Fort Pierre Chamber of Commerce Director Shane Kramme, KCCR News Director Zach Nelson, Diane Deis of Dakota Radio Group, Dave Bonde FPDC Executive Director, and Sunny Hannum FPDC Office Manager.

Become a FPDC Member

For membership information, please contact the FPDC at: or
(605) 223-7603